Using the Rearrange tool

All Categories / Editing Your Scores

Take charge of your music by reordering, duplicating, rotating, or removing pages. When you’re done, save the results to a new file or replace the original. (Note: Rearrange is not available for password-protected files.)

Editing a Score

While links are a great visual way of dealing with repeats, they still require that you reach up and tap on the screen. Rearranging a score in advance, however, ensures that the next page is always the correct one—it’s great for musicians who use the autoturn feature or a foot pedal to turn pages.

While viewing the score you’d like to edit, choose “Rearrange” from the tools menu. The system will take a few moments to generate thumbnails for each page, and then you’ll be ready to customize your score’s layout. Drag pages around on the screen to rearrange them, and use the toolbar along the bottom of each page to remove it, rotate it 90° clockwise, duplicate it, or to create a new section beginning with it (use sections to split up large files into multiple documents). You can also rotate all pages at once using the arrow buttons at the bottom of the screen.

If you’re using forScore 10.5 or later, drag one page and then tap additional pages to move them all at once. If you drop them in a new location, they’re placed there in the order they were picked up. While dragging multiple pages, tap the Cancel button in the top right-hand corner to release all pages and place them back in their original locations, if needed.

Merging Files & Inserting Pages

With forScore 10 or newer, you can tap the “+” button at the bottom of the screen to add all of the pages from another score or bookmark to your Rearrange workspace. When you save, the pages will all be merged into one continuous PDF file. You can also insert one or more pages from a template, including blank pages—they’re fully annotatable so you can use them for just about anything.

Saving a Score

When you’re done adjusting your score’s layout, tap “Save As…” to create a new file or “Save” to permanently overwrite the original file. “Save As” copies the original score’s information but does not duplicate its versions. “Save” overwrites the original file and cannot be undone, and all score information (including versions) is updated as needed. In both cases, Links and Bookmarks are preserved and updated as long as their start and end pages haven’t been removed and, in the case of Bookmarks, that they haven’t been inverted (a bookmark’s start page must precede its end page).

Note: Rearrange was updated to preserve bookmarks and links with forScore 10.4. If you’re using an older version, your bookmarks and links will not be preserved when saving a rearranged file.

Keep in mind that some files use special fonts that iOS cannot reproduce, and in some cases this can result in missing text or blank pages. Before overwriting any file, we strongly recommend that you save a copy first to ensure that the results are usable.

If you’ve split the file into multiple sections, the “Save” button won’t be available, but you can use the “Save As…” button to create a set of new, sequentially numbered files.

Tip: Use the “white marker” annotation preset or the rectangle shape to cover up the portions of repeated pages that you don’t need to play again. Since each page includes its own annotations, you will still be able to see that information on other copies of the page.

Mark as helpful. 23