Deleting Files

All Categories / Getting Started

There are several ways to delete files from within forScore (allowing you to recover them if you accidentally delete something), but you can also delete them directly from your device through the Files app or the File Sharing interface if needed.

Within forScore

Swipe to Delete

  • In the scores menu (music note icon) or search panel, swipe from right to left across an item to reveal a red “Delete” button
  • Tap the Delete button to confirm and move the item to the trash*

Contextual MenusiOS 13

  • In the scores menu or search panel, tap and hold an item to open its contextual menu
  • Tap the Delete option to move the item to the trash*

Deleting One or More Scores

  • In the scores menu, tap the Edit button then tap items in the list to select or deselect them
  • Tap the Delete button at the top of the list, then confirm when prompted to move the selected item(s) to the trash.*

*If you use the methods above to delete files using forScore 10.5 or later, certain items like scores, setlists, and backups are moved to the “recently deleted” section of forScore’s backup panel and can be restored for up to seven days. Learn more about this recovery feature here. If you are using an earlier version of forScore, or if you use the methods below, items are immediately and permanently erased.

Other Methods

From a computer using File Sharing

  • Connect your device to a computer and access the File Sharing panel
  • Select one or more files, then press the Delete or Backspace key and confirm to immediately and permanently delete them

Using the Files appiOS 11

  • Open the Files app on your iOS device (install it from the App Store if necessary)
  • Swipe inward from the left edge of the screen or tap the back button, if necessary, until the Browse sidebar is visible
  • Choose “On My iPad” or “On My iPhone” under Locations
  • Select the forScore folder and browse for your file, then tap and hold it until additional options appear
  • Tap “Delete” to delete it (see the note below)

When deleting files through the Files app, those items are moved to a “Recently Deleted” folder and can be recovered within a certain amount of time. Unlike forScore’s recovery features, however, this process does not preserve your annotations, metadata, or other score-specific data (which will be purged automatically the next time forScore updates its library). If you remove an item using this method and then later recover it, this additional information will most likely be lost.

Mark as helpful. 21